Information: Opening of prequalification platform for the CRM

Pending approval of the functioning rules, the prequalification platform will be available as of 5 p.m. on Friday, 7 May. Participants have until 15 June 2021 to submit their prequalification file. More information

Task Force CRM

Market parties can discuss the development of the capacity remuneration mechanism (CRM) with the CRM Task Force.

What is the CRM?

The introduction of a capacity remuneration mechanism for the Belgian market is part of the federal government’s energy strategy, which lays out a number of new measures designed to guarantee Belgium’s security of supply in the long term.

The federal government decided to incorporate provisions for the creation of a capacity remuneration mechanism (CRM) into the Act of 29 April 1999 on the Organisation of the Electricity Market (‘the Electricity Act’).

In 2018, a working group – consisting of representatives from the office of Federal Energy Minister Marghem, the Federal Public Service Economy – DG Energy, the federal regulator CREG and Elia – produced a law proposal on the capacity remuneration mechanism. The law proposal was debated and adopted on 4 April 2019 and is published in the Belgian Official Gazette on 22 April 2019 (Dutch versionFrench version). 

A CRM Task Force was created to discuss the design principles of a CRM with the market parties. 

Information and documentation related to the Capacity Remuneration Mechanism to be put in place on the Belgian market is made available on this page.

  • Documents
  • Use Cases
  • Public Consultations
  • Demo
  • Additional documentation 

Documents

2019

Within the framework of the design and implementation of a Belgian CRM as foreseen by the law of 4 April 2019 modifying the Electricity Law, Elia drafted design notes which were publicly consulted upon in September/October 2019.
Following to the received feedback during the public consultations, Elia proposed a number of modifications to the initial proposed design.  The consultation report contains a table per design note, a reply on each remark and if it has been considered in the updated design or not.
The updated design proposals have been transformed into the two main deliverables for which Elia needs to make a proposal:

2020

Elia updated the initial design notes taken into account the feedback received from stakeholders during the public consultation and as described in the above consultation report. The design reflected in these updated design notes corresponds to the design described by Elia in the draft market rules and draft royal decree on the methodology as published end of 2019.
Given the multiple changes in the “Prequalification” and “Secondary market” design notes, only clean versions without track changes of those documents are available.

In the course of 2020, Elia worked on an elaborated version of the CRM functioning rules which were discussed with the stakeholders during the TF CRM meetings. During September 2020 Elia organised a public consultation on the CRM functioning rules.  The updated version has been submitted for approval to the regulator on November 13th 2020.

According to the "Preliminary draft Royal Decree establishing the method for calculating the necessary capacity volume and the parameters necessary for the organisation of the auctions under the capacity compensation mechanism ", Elia submitted the "Transmission System Operator's report containing information and proposals for the first CRM auction" to the Minister for Energy, the CREG and the Directorate-General for Energy of the FPS Economy on 13 November 2020.

In the framework of the above report, Elia has requested external consultant Fichtner to perform a study on the Cost of Capacity.  Following the   Public consultation in May 2020, a peer review on some specific items related to the calibration of the intermediate price cap was executed by external consultant Afry.


2021

At the end of 2020, Elia organised a public consultation on the CRM capacity contract.  The updated version has been submitted for approval to the regulator on February 5th, 2021.


Pursuant to CREG's draft proposal on the parameters used to determine the amount of capacity to be purchased for the T-4 auction in 2021 with a delivery period of 2025-2026 ( Dutch version –  French version), Elia is authorised to issue an opinion in accordance with Article 7undecies §5 of the CRM Act. 

Following comments received from CREG, Elia updated the CRM Functioning rules in collaboration with the regulator in order to improve the readability and the understanding of the document. The changes made between the version below and the version of November 13th, 2020 were highlighted during the TF CRM meeting of April 1st 2021. 

2020

In order to have a better understanding of the proposed design, Elia drafted a document with some full-cycle use cases for different kind of capacities and time schedules, which was presented during the TF CRM meeting of February 6th 2020. Answers on feedback received from market parties after this meeting are summarized in the “Q&A” document.

The different Use Cases as discussed during the TF CRM Implementation meetings in period May-August 2020 have been updated to be in line with the proposed CRM functioning rules.


2021

As stated during the TF CRM Implementation of March 2, 2021 , Elia adapted the use cases published in 2020 in order to facilitate the understanding of the proposed CRM Functioning Rules  and the CRM IT Interface. The following documents focus only on the Prequalification and the Auction Processes (Elia added two new use cases to the list published in 2020):
 

Public Consultations

Several public consultations are held within the framework of the design and implementation of a Belgian CRM as foreseen by the law of 4 April 2019 modifying the Electricity Law and published in the Belgian Official Gazette on 22 April 2019 (“CRM Law”) (Dutch versionFrench version). Links towards these consultations are provided below :

2019

2020

2021

  • FPS Economy - Public consultation on a methodology to obtain an individual derogation of the intermediate price cap [02.02.2021 – 14.02.2021] (Dutch version – French version)
  • CREG – Consultation note outlining changes made or to be made to the Proposal for the functioning rules of the capacity remuneration mechanism drafted by Elia Transmission Belgium SA [30.04.2021 – 07.05.2021] ( Dutch version  –  French version )

CRM Demo

Elia provides a demo environment of the IT CRM interface to the CRM candidates to facilitate the preparation of the CRM operational   processes. The demo focuses on two key processes: the prequalification file submission phase and the bid   submission phase of an auction. Elia reminds that these two processes are part of a whole sequence, described in the CRM Functioning Rules, which a CRM candidate needs to follow to participate successfully to the CRM auction .   
 

Demo Application Form

To get access to the CRM demo environments, the CRM candidate first has to complete the demo application form. Elia will approve the application form and each user created during the application phase receives a user ID   and password. This user ID   and password allow the users to access both the Prequalification Process Platform and Auction platform in the demo environment. A user manual on how to create a demo account is provided below. 

 

Demo Prequalification Process Platform

In the demo Prequalification Process Platform, the CRM candidate gets an overview of the Prequalification file submission Process for a Capacity Market Unit (CMU). Elia provides a dedicated user manual of the demo Prequalification Platform.  
 

Demo Auction Platform

The Auction Platform in the demo environment gives the CRM candidate the opportunity to get familiar with the bid submission process of a CRM Auction. The CMU Portfolio configuration process for the demo environment differs from the production environment. A description of the process, including the CRM Auction Demo Portfolio Configuration Form (.xlsx), is available below. 
 

Contact

Federal Grid Code

In order to guarantee the necessary level of competition between new generation projects, Elia identifies the need to modify some articles related to the connection process as currently described in the Federal Grid Code. This note explains the general principles behind the proposal and the proposed modifications.


Position Papers


Survey – June 2019

The topics of “strike and reference price” and “Pay-as-Bid versus Pay-as-Cleared” were discussed several times in the TF CRM meetings. For each topic different options were proposed and extensively discussed. During the TF CRM of 13 June 2019 it was requested to the stakeholders to state their preference related to these two topics.

The received answers are :

This website uses cookies to provide you with an optimal browsing experience. Some cookies are strictly necessary for the operation of this website and cannot be rejected, while others are used for analytical/functional/targeting purposes and can be rejected. For more information, please consult ourCookie Policy . You can manage/change your cookie preferences at any time. If you do not manage your preferences, only the cookies which are strictly necessary will be accepted.

Task Force CRM

Via la « Task force CRM », les acteurs de marché discutent du développement du mécanisme de rémunération de la capacité (CRM).

Qu’est-ce que le CRM ?

L’introduction d’un mécanisme de rémunération de la capacité sur le marché belge est l’une des mesures de la stratégie énergétique mise en place par les autorités fédérales. Cette stratégie prévoit de nouvelles mesures qui garantissent la sécurité d’approvisionnement du pays à long terme.

Le gouvernement fédéral a décidé d’inclure à la loi relative à l’organisation du marché de l’électricité (la « Loi électricité » du 29 avril 1999) la mise en place d’un mécanisme de rémunération de la capacité (CRM).

En 2018, un groupe de travail, composé des représentants du cabinet de la ministre Marghem (ministre fédérale de l’Énergie), du SPF Économie – DG Énergie, du régulateur fédéral (la CREG) et d’Elia, a élaboréune proposition de loi sur le mécanisme de rémunération de la capacité. Cette proposition de loi a été discutée et adoptée le 4 avril 2019 et est publiée au Moniteur belge le 22 avril 2019

Une « Task force CRM » a vu le jour en vue de discuter avec les acteurs de marché des « principes de design » de ce CRM.

Les informations et la documentation relatives au mécanisme de rémunération de capacité à mettre en place sur le marché belge sont disponibles sur cette page. L’anglais sera utilisé pour tous les documents.

  • Documents
  • Use Cases
  • Public Consultations
  • Demo
  • Additional documentation 

Les documents

2019

Dans le cadre du design et de l’implémentation d'un CRM belge comme prévu par la loi du 4 avril 2019 modifiant la loi sur l'électricité, Elia a rédigé des notes de design qui ont fait l'objet d'une consultation publique en septembre/octobre 2019 (en anglais).
À la suite des commentaires reçus au cours des consultations publiques, Elia a proposé un certain nombre de modifications au design initial proposé.  Le rapport de consultation contient un tableau par note de design, une réponse à chaque remarque et si elle a été prise en compte dans le design actualisé ou non.
Les propositions de design mises à jour ont été transformées en deux délivrables principaux pour lesquels Elia doit faire une proposition :

2020

Elia a mis à jour les design notes en prenant en compte le retour d’information reçu de la part des parties prenantes lors de la consultation publique et comme décris dans le rapport de consultation ci-dessus. Le design reflété dans ces mises à jour de design notes correspond au design décrit par ELIA dans le projet de règles de marché et dans le projet d’arrêté royal fixant la méthodologie comme publié fin 2019.
Etant donné les multiples changements dans les design notes “Prequalification” et “Secondary Market”, seules les versions propres et sans suivi d’évolution de ces documents sont disponibles.

Dans le courant de l'année 2020, Elia a travaillé sur une version élaborée des règles de fonctionnement CRM qui ont été discutées avec les parties prenantes lors des réunions de la TF CRM. En septembre 2020, Elia a organisé une consultation publique sur les règles de fonctionnement du mécanisme de rémunération de capacité.  La version actualisée a été soumise pour approbation au régulateur le 13 novembre 2020.

Conformément à l' "Avant-projet d'arrêté royal fixant la méthode de calcul du volume de capacité nécessaire et des paramètres nécessaires pour l’organisation des enchères dans le cadre du mécanisme de rémunération de capacité ", Elia a soumis le "Rapport du gestionnaire de réseau contenant des informations et des propositions pour la première enchère CRM" au ministre de l'énergie, la CREG et la Direction générale de l'énergie du SPF Economie le 13 novembre 2020.

Dans le cadre du rapport ci-dessus, Elia a demandé au consultant externe Fichtner de réaliser une étude sur le coût des capacités.  Suite à   la consultation publique en mai 2020, une évaluation par les pairs sur certains points spécifiques liés au calibrage du prix maximum intermédiaire a été effectuée par le consultant externe Afry.


2021

Fin 2020, Elia a organisé une consultation publique sur le contrat de capacité CRM.  La version actualisée a été soumise pour approbation au régulateur le 5 février 2021.



Suite aux commentaires reçus de la CREG, Elia a mis à jour les règles de fonctionnement du CRM en collaboration avec le régulateur afin d'améliorer la lisibilité et la compréhension du document. Les modifications apportées entre la version ci-dessous et la version du 13 novembre 2020 ont été soulignées lors de la réunion TF CRM du 1er avril 2021. 

Conformément à l'article 7 undecies, paragraphe 12 de la Loi sur l'Electricité, Elia doit publier les règles de fonctionnement du CRM établies par la CREG sur son site web pour le 15 mai au plus tard.

Le 1er juin 2021, Elia, a préparé, après alignement avec la CREG, une nouvelle version du contrat de capacité CRM en vue d’une réintroduction pour approbation. Dans l'intérêt de la transparence de ce processus, Elia publie également une version "comparée" par rapport à la version soumise le 5 février 2021.
Après des alignements supplémentaires avec la CREG, une nouvelle version du contrat de capacité CRM a été préparée le 24 juin 2021 et a été soumise pour approbation.

2020

Dans le but d’une meilleure compréhension du design proposé, Elia a rédigé un document contenant quelques cas d’utilisation de cycle complet pour diffèrent types de capacités et pour différents calendriers, qui ont été présentés lors de la réunion TF CRM du 6 février 2020. Des réponses au retour d’information reçu des acteurs de marché suite à cette réunion sont également résumées dans le document “Q&A”.

Les différents « Use Cases », tels que discutés lors des réunions de la TF CRM Implémentation de mai à août 2020, ont été mis à jour pour être conformes aux règles de fonctionnement du mécanisme de rémunération de capacité proposées


2021

Comme annoncé lors de la TF CRM Implémentation du 2 mars 2021 , Elia a adapté les cas d’utilisation publiés en 2020 dans le but de faciliter la compréhension des Règles de Fonctionnement CRM  et de l’Interface IT CRM. Ce qui suit ne concerne que les procédures de préqualification et de mise aux enchères (Elia a ajouté deux nouveaux cas d'utilisation à la liste publiée en 2020) :
 

Consultations publiques

Plusieurs consultations publiques seront organisées dans le cadre du design et de l’implémentation du CRM belge tel que décrit dans la loi du 4 avril 2019 modifiant la loi sur l’électricité et publiée au Moniteur belge le 22 avril (« Loi CRM »). Les liens vers ces consultations sont fournis ci-dessous:

2019

2020

2021

CRM Demo

Elia met à la disposition des candidats CRM un environnement de démonstration de l'interface IT CRM afin de faciliter leur préparation des processus opérationnels CRM. La démo se concentre sur deux processus clés: la phase de soumission du dossier de préqualification et la phase de soumission des offres pour la phase d’enchères. Elia rappelle que ces deux processus font partie d'une séquence complète, décrite dans les règles de fonctionnement, qu'un candidat CRM doit suivre afin d'aboutir à une participation réussie à l’enchère CRM.   

Version démo du Formulaire de Demande

Afin d'avoir accès à l'interface démo CRM, le candidat doit d'abord remplir le formulaire de demande d’accès à l’environnement de démonstration. Elia approuvera le formulaire de demande et chaque utilisateur créé pendant la phase de candidature recevra un identifiant et un mot de passe. Le même identifiant et le même mot de passe permettent aux utilisateurs d'accéder à la fois à la plate-forme de préqualification et à la plate-forme d'enchère dans l’environnement de demonstration. Un manuel d'utilisation pour la création d'un compte dans l’environnement dedémonstration est disponible ci-dessous.
 

Version démo du module de préqualification

Dans la plate-forme de processus de préqualification de démonstration, le candidat CRM obtient un aperçu du processus de soumission du dossier de préqualification pour une unité du marché de capacité (CMU). Elia fournit un manuel d'utilisation dédié à la plateforme de préqualification de démonstration.

Version démo du module d'Enchères

La plate-forme d’enchères dans l’environnement de démonstration donne au candidat CRM la possibilité de se familiariser avec le processus de soumission d'une offre pour une enchère CRM. Le processus de configuration du portefeuille CMU pour l'environnement de démonstration diffère de celui de l'environnement de production. Une description du processus, incluant le formulaire de configuration du portefeuille de démonstration (.xlsx), est disponible ci-dessous.
 

Contact

Règlement Technique Fédéral

Afin de garantir le niveau de concurrence nécessaire entre les projets de nouvelle génération, Elia a identifié la nécessité de modifier certains articles liés au processus de raccordement, tels que décrits actuellement dans le Règlement Technique Fédéral. Cette note explique les principes généraux qui sous-tendent la proposition et les modifications proposées.

Position Papers

Sondage - juin 2019

Les sujets «strike & reference price » et «Pay-as-Bid versus Pay-as-Cleared» ont été abordés à plusieurs reprises lors des réunions du groupe de travail CRM. Différentes options ont été proposées et discutées de manière approfondie pour chaque sujet. Lors de la TF CRM du 13 juin 2019, il a été demandé aux parties prenantes d'indiquer leurs préférences concernant ces deux sujets.

Les réponses reçues sont :
Ce site web utilise des cookies pour optimaliser votre expérience de navigation. Certains de ces cookies sont strictement nécessaires pour garantir le fonctionnement de ce site web et ne peuvent pas être refusés. D’autres sont utilisés à des fins d’analyse/de fonctionnalité/de ciblage et peuvent être refusés. Pour plus d’informations, vous pouvez consulter notre Politique en matière de cookies . Vous pouvez gérer/modifier vos préférences en matière de cookies à tout moment. Si vous ne gérez pas vos préférences en matière de cookies, seuls les cookies strictement nécessaires seront acceptés.