Information
Welcome on the new Elia website. This website’s interface and content has completely been reviewed in order to improve your experience. We invite you to discoverour homepage for you to discover the content you are looking for.

Merksem Commemoration

While Antwerp was liberated on 4 September 1944, Merksem had to wait in trepidation for another month until it too was freed from German occupation. The Germans had dug themselves in north of the Albert Canal, with heavy artillery on the roof of the Belga tobacco factory preventing the British from moving beyond the south side of the canal and Ijzerlaan. The bridges over the Albert Canal at the Sportpaleis arena and the 'Brug van den Azijn' (Vinegar Bridge) a bit further south were blown up by the retreating Germans.

The British soldiers had to dig themselves in and seek cover behind the stone railings of the Ijzerlaanbrug (Ijzerlaan Bridge) as they shuffled forward. When some German soldiers were killed at the power plant next to the Albert Canal, SS troops exacted a bloody revenge.

On 6 September, 21 of the plant's employees were sent outside one at a time through a hole in the wall. On the other side, SS soldiers shot them in cold blood. The power-plant workers had no chance. They were killed without being questioned or having any opportunity to defend themselves.

The day after this horrific event, a 22nd victim lost his life in the power plant. He had managed to hide there from the Germans overnight but was discovered in the morning. The 22 victims were only given a proper burial on 13 October. To this day a memorial in Straalstraat reminds us of this dreadful war crime. An annual commemoration is held at this monument to remember those who died.

On 3 October 1944, following the failure of Operation Market Garden, the Allies finally managed to cross the Albert Canal. Merksem was liberated, and the Allies were able to advance to the north along Bredabaan. However, despite its liberation, the Germans continued to pound Merksem with V1 and V2 rockets between 14 October 1944 and 14 March 1945. These were actually intended for Antwerp and its port, but Merksem and the suburbs were not spared the travails they caused.

On 1 January 1983, the autonomous municipality of Merksem was abolished and was merged into Antwerp.

 

6 September 1944
The 'L‘Escaut' power plant in Merksem

Koninklijke Kring voor Heemkunde Merksem vzw (the Merksem local history society)

Photo: The 'L’Escaut' in 1944
The workforce before liberation
2nd row (third from the right): Louis Alfons Leyssens (with the moustache), nicknamed 'Louike de Plekker' (Louis the Plasterer)

On Friday, 13 October 1944, the power-plant victims were transferred with military honours to the cemetery in Van Heybruckstraat and buried in the memorial park there.
From the plant, the cortège proceeded alongside the viaduct towards Deurnebaan.

Unveiling of the monument to the victims of the power-plant massacre on 6 September 1945

Flags of the Resistance groups at the monument

 Military and civilian dignitaries at the memorial in Straalstraat

Please be aware that we use cookies on our website. By continuing to use this website, or by clicking "I accept", you indicate that you have read and agree with our cookie policy. More information about cookiescan be found here.

Commémoration Merksem

Anvers avait déjà été libérée le 4 septembre 1944 mais Merksem devait encore subir un mois de peur dans l’attente de sa libération. Les Allemands s’étaient retranchés au nord du Canal Albert tandis que sur le toit de « Belga » (une usine de tabac) se trouvait encore de l’artillerie lourde qui maintenait les Anglais au sud du Canal et de l’IJzerlaan. Les ponts qui enjambaient le Canal Albert au Palais des sports et le pont plus au sud que l’on surnommait « Brug van den Azijn » avaient tous deux été dynamités par les Allemands en retraite.

Les soldats anglais devaient donc se retrancher et trouver refuge derrière les murs de pierre du pont « IJzerlaanbrug » pour ainsi progresser, bien qu’à contrecœur. Quelques soldats allemands avaient été tués à la centrale électrique proche du Canal Albert, poussant les troupes SS à une vengeance sanglante.

Le 6 septembre, 21 travailleurs de la centrale électrique ont été forcés de sortir un à un par ouverture dans le mur. De l’autre côté, des SS les abattaient alors de sang-froid. Les travailleurs n’avaient absolument aucune chance. Ils ont été assassinés sans être interrogés ni avoir l’occasion de se défendre.

Le lendemain de ce cruel massacre, une 22e victime a péri dans la centrale. Pendant la nuit, il avait pu se cacher et éviter les Allemands mais finit par être découvert pendant la matinée. Ce n’est que le 13 octobre que les 22 victimes ont pu être dignement inhumées. Aujourd'hui, un monument érigé dans la Straalstraat nous rappelle cet atroce crime de guerre. Une commémoration en hommage aux victimes s’y tient chaque année.

Le 3 octobre 1944, après l’échec de l’opération Market Garden, les Alliés sont finalement parvenus à franchir le Canal Albert. Merksem était libérée et les Alliés pouvaient continuer leur progression vers le nord, via la Bredabaan. Même si Merksem était désormais libre, les Allemands ont continué à la bombarder de roquettes V1 et V2 du 14 octobre 1944 au 14 mars 1945. Même si ces attaques étaient destinées à Anvers et à son port, Merksem et les communes avoisinantes sont les victimes collatérales des horreurs de la guerre.

Le 1er janvier 1983, la commune de Merksem a été intégrée à la ville d’Anvers.

 

6 septembre 1944
Centrale l’Escaut à Merksem

Cercle royal d’Histoire de Merksem asbl

 

Le vendredi 13 octobre 1944, les victimes de la centrale électrique ont été transférées avec les honneurs militaires au cimetière de la Van Heybruckstraat et inhumées dans le carré d’honneur.
Le cortège funèbre quitte l’usine et passe près du viaduc en direction de la Deurnebaan. 

Inauguration du monument aux victimes de la centrale électrique le 6 septembre 1945.

Drapeaux de la Résistance près du monument.

 Autorités militaires et civiles près de la plaque commémorative de la Straalstraat.

Ce site utilise des cookies. En continuant à naviguer sur notre site ou en cliquant sur « J’accepte », vous indiquez avoir lu et approuvé notre politique en matière de cookies. Plus d’informations sur les cookies